WASHINGTON, D.C. – Congressman Clay Higgins (R-LA) participated today in a briefing with Chad Wolf, acting Secretary of the Department of Homeland Security, regarding President Trump’s authorization of expanded travel restrictions against countries that fail to meet U.S. minimum security standards. The six countries include Burma, Eritrea, Nigeria, Kyrgyzstan, Sudan, and Tanzania.

The administration considered the following factors in developing the new restrictions:

  • Does the country conduct proper identity management protocols and procedures?
  • Does the country provide information necessary to comply with basic national security requirements, including sharing terrorist, criminal, or other identity information?

The new restrictions are designed to protect the homeland, encourage compliance with minimum security standards, and prevent illegal immigration. The issuance of immigrant visas for certain nationals of Burma, Eritrea, Kyrgyzstan, Nigeria and participation in the “Visa Lottery” for certain nationals of Sudan and Tanzania will be suspended under the new restrictions. The changes take effect on February 21 and will not apply to tourist, business, or other non-immigrant travel.

Congressman Higgins issued the following statement:

“President Trump’s primary mission is to protect our homeland and the American people. Our office has worked closely with the President’s senior advisors and the Department of Homeland Security to develop a policy that reflects our heritage as a compassionate, principled nation while at the same time strengthening America’s sovereign security. The expanded travel policy will ensure foreign nations are complying with U.S. minimum security standards and cooperating in efforts to stop bad actors from entering the United States. These restrictions are reasonable and necessary. We must ensure that our travel and immigration policies prioritize the safety and security of American citizens.”

Signup to receive our Email Newsletters

The Latest News